Part of the Saint Nicholas Owen Catholic Multi Academy Company. In Jesus we live learn and serve.

School Logo

Friday 18th January 2019

Sharing the peace of Christ with our world

Every year Pax Christi, the International Catholic Movement for Peace, promotes the Holy Father’s World Peace Day Message on the Second Sunday in Ordinary Time. The organisation sends resource materials to every parish in the country to help them mark and celebrate the day - falling this year on Sunday 20th January.  The theme for this year is taken from Pope Francis's message 'Good politics serves peace'. Pope Francis invites us to begin our New Year with  a concern for the future of life and the planet, of the youngest and the weakest. Internationally thousands are displaced and suffer as a result of war, yet the global arms trade continues unabated and people profit from war. We hear of flashpoints of potential and real violence: Russia, Ukraine, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gaza… situations often brought about because of bad politics. Our own country is divided over Brexit and people are hurting and we need to explore better ways of reaching out to one another and finding ways to rebuild trust and community. All of this calls for ‘Good politics’ and the skills and the tools of peacemakers. Pope Francis says: good politics is at the service of peace. It respects and promotes fundamental human rights, which are at the same time mutual obligations, enabling a bond of trust and gratitude to be forged between present and future generations. Today more than ever, our societies need “artisans of peace” who can be messengers and authentic witnesses of God the Father, who wills the good and the happiness of the human family.

Parent Representatives for St. Joseph's Academy Committee Required

A huge thank you to Mr Davis and Mrs Smith for their commitment to St. Joseph's School as members of the our Academy Committee for the last four years.  Since their term of office finished on Tuesday 15th January the school will be appointing two new parent representatives to serve on the local Academy Committee.  You will have received a letter outlining the process of election on Wednesday this week.  Please return the reply slip to school in inform us that you are aware of this process taking place. Mr Reeve and Mrs Motaban are also our newly appointed Foundation Academy Committee members - we thank them for their commitment in volunteering for this role to serve all the pupils within our school community.

Sacrament of Confirmation

On Sunday 27th January at 1pm, our Year 6 Confirmandi will be receiving the Holy Spirit through the Sacrament of Confirmation at Our Lady and All Saints Church.  Bishop David, our Area Bishop, will be the celebrant at this special occasion - it is always joyful to welcome a former Parish Priest back to the parish! Bishop David will also be visiting our Year 6 children on Friday afternoon at St. Joseph's.  This will also be an opportunity for him to look around our wonderful school. On Tuesday 22nd January at 7pm, there will be a special Service of Light at Our Lady and All Saints as part of the final preparations to receive this sacrament.  Please keep our Confirmandi in your prayers at this time.

Change to Lunch Menu on Tuesday 22nd January

Winter Wonderlunch - Tuesday 22nd January 2019

Snowball spaghetti (Quorn option)

Bacon "wrapped" up warm.

Find a sticker and win a prize.

School dinners cost £2.30 for KS2 children, Reception and KS1 children are entitled to Universal free school meals.

Praise Assembly

Year Group Catholic Virtues Good Work
Reception Class Lloyd Grace and Will
Year 1 Emmett Zach
Year 2 Zach Harry
Year 3 Sophie Jacob
Year 4 Kieran Emilia
Year 5 Ella Liam
Year 6 Lucia Ava

What's On - Spring term 2019

Sunday 20th January Peace Sunday
Tuesday 22nd January Year 6 Confessions 11am
Tuesday 22nd January Year 6 Service of Light 7pm
Wednesday 23rd January Year 4 Class Assembly 9.10am
Wednesday 23rd January Anniversary of the capture of St. Nicholas Owen
Thursday 24th January Young Voices Concert (KS2 School Choir)
Friday 25th January Bishop McGough to meet with Year 6 Confirmandi at OLAS Parish Centre pm
Sunday 27th January Year 6 Sacrament of Confirmation 1pm
Wednesday 30th January Reception Class Mass 9.10am
Tuesday 5th February Safer Internet Day - Together for a better internet
Wednesday 6th February Year 3 Class Mass 9.10am
Wednesday 6th February Dudley Inter School Maths Competition for Years 3 and 4
Thursday 7th February Tempest whole class photographs am
Thursday 7th February Year 3 First Holy Communion Session for Parents at OLAS 7pm
Saturday 9th February Year 3 First Holy Communion Preparation Session at OLAS 10.30am
Sunday 10th February Year 3 First Holy Communion Enrolment Mass at OLAS 10.30am
Monday 11th February Full Academy Committee Meeting 7pm
Wednesday 13th February Year 4 Class Mass 9.10am
Thursday 14th February Year 5 Pyramid Concert with Hagley Catholic High School pm
Friday 15th February Dudley Primary Gymnastics Competition at Leasowes am
Friday 15th February Finish school for half term break 3.15pm
Monday 25th February School INSET Day - children not in school on this day
Tuesday 26th February Spring term 2 starts for children 8.45am
Wednesday 27th February Dudley Inter School Maths Competition for Years 5 and 6
Thursday 28th February Year 3 First Holy Communion Parents' Session at OLAS 7pm
Saturday 2nd March Year 3 First Holy Communion Children's Session at OLAS 10.30am
Sunday 3rd March Year 3 First Holy Communion Preparation Mass at OLAS 10.30am
Tuesday 5th March SLP Unity Service at St. James' Church am
Wednesday 6th March Ash Wednesday Service 9.10am
Thursday 7th March Year 3 First Confession at OLAS 6.30pm
Monday 11th March Gospel Assembly - Fr. Hudson's Appeal
Monday 11th March Year 5 Confessions 11am
Tuesday 12th March Parents' Evening 3.30pm-5.30pm
Wednesday 13th March Year 2 Class Mass 9.10am
Wednesday 13th March Dudley Area Finals - Tag Rugby am
Wednesday 13th March Parents' Evening 5pm-7pm
Monday 18th March Year 4 Confessions 11am
Tuesday 19th March St. Joseph's Feast Day Mass 2pm
Monday 25th March Year 6 Confessions 11am
Wednesday 27th March Year 1 Class Mass 9.10am
Thursday 28th March Year 3 First Holy Communion Parents' Session at OLAS 7pm
Saturday 30th March Year 3 First Holy Communion Children's Session at OLAS 10.30am
Sunday 31st March Year 3 First Holy Communion Preparation Mass at OLAS 10.30am
Monday 1st April Full Academy Committee Meeting 7pm
Tuesday 2nd April Years 3 and 4 Production 6.30pm
Wednesday 3rd April St. Mark's Feast Day - children of this House can wear blue
Wednesday 3rd April Years 3 and 4 Production 6.30pm
Friday 12th April End of term Mass 9.10am
w/c Monday 15th April Holy Week
Friday 19th April Good Friday
Sunday 21st April Easter Sunday
Monday 29th April Start of the Summer term for children

Out of School Hours Activities

Day Activity Year Group Time
Monday Multi-skills Years 1 to 3 8am
Monday Cross Country Years 4 to 6 12.30pm
Monday Dance (to be confirmed) Years 3 to 6 3.15pm-4.15pm
Tuesday Gymnastics Years 3 to 6 8am
Tuesday Irish Dancing Years 1 to 6 3.15pm-4.15pm
Tuesday Play Leader Training Years 5 and 6 12.50pm-1.20pm
Wednesday Multi-skills Years 4 to 6 8am
Wednesday Cross Country Years 4 to 6 12.30pm
Wednesday Football (mixed) Years 3 and 4 12.45pm
Thursday Gymnastics Years 1 and 2 8am
Thursday School Football Team (mixed) Years 4 to 6 12.45pm
Thursday High 5 Netball (mixed) Years 4 to 6 3.15pm-4.15pm
Friday Football (mixed) Years 5 and 6 12.45pm
Friday Football (mixed) Years 1 to 6 3.15pm-4.45pm

PE and School Sport Update

Next Thursday, a team of 12 boys and girls from Years 5 and 6 will be taking part in the Sportshall athletics competition at Oldswinford Hospital School.  We wish them the very best of luck.  Cross country training has also started in preparation for our competitions starting next month.  Please ensure that your child brings an additonal kit to school including extra layers.

Virtues Focus - Eloquent and Truthful

Pupils at St. Joseph's are growing to be Eloquent and truthful in what they say of themselves, the relations between people, and the world. 

Prayer of the Week - Peace Sunday

How I wish that all men and women of good will would look at the Cross if only for a moment!

There, we can see God's reply:

violence is not answered with violence,

death is not answered with the language of death.

In the silence of the Cross the uproar of weapons ceases.

and the language of reconciliation, forgiveness, dialogue and peace is spoken.

Pope Francis

Pope's Intention for January

Evangelization - Young People:
That young people, especially in Latin America, follow the example of Mary and respond to the call of the Lord to communicate the joy of the Gospel to the world.

A School Life Website
School Life app download
School Life app download